Lucky 13?

I’m not sure how 2013 is going to treat me. If it’s anything like 2012 it’ll be a real mixed bag. I think that everything was fine until I turned 50, then it seemed as if the wheels came off, and everything turned sour. I can’t say things have improved since then. I’ve tried to come to terms with the things that I cannot change or that are a “trade-off”. It’s hard for me to resign myself that this is the way things are going to be from now on.  I’m sorry that I sound so “Debbie downer” but I think things would have been different if our dog situation had turned out otherwise. I thought I was doing the right thing by adopting a dog that had been passed around and needed a stable home, but I got more than I bargained for. Rocco is not an easy dog. Owning him is more of a chore than a pleasure. He could care less about me. There is no connection between the two of us. This is not to mention the substantial health problems that we’ve been dealing with with him. At first we thought he had chronic UTIs as it turns out he had bladder stones and required surgery. Needless to say this is been financially a hardship. He is sweet in a lot of ways, but he is not my friend. Compounding this with the other difficulties that I have been going through, I’m feeling pretty isolated and alone. All I can hope for at this point, is that this is temporary and things will improve. Something has got to give.

20130113-232233.jpg
As usual about the only thing saving my sanity is creating and working with my hands. I have managed to actually finish a few projects. I’ve tried to keep my knitting pretty simple. I feel like when I’m using my hand spun I like to keep my pattern simple to show off the textures and colors of yarn that I spin. One project that I finally finished is the Boneyard shawl by Stephen West. It’s a very simple knit, but structurally and visually pleasing. I used 100% spindle spun fingering weight yarn.

20130113-232921.jpg
I think it turned out pretty well and it blocked beautifully. I didn’t even have to use any blocking wires.
Next on my project list is a coat for Rocco. He needs to be walked daily and with the weather being cold he needs a coat to keep them warm. I can’t find any decent patterns for a larger dog, so I’m improvising my own based on sock construction. As crazy as it sounds, I think I might be able to make it work.
Hope you all had a great New Year, a toast for better days. Cheers.

2 thoughts on “Lucky 13?

Leave a Reply

