Snap out of it already…..

This winter weather is killing me.  Is it just me or does it seem to be a little excessive this year with all the snow and sleet?  At any rate I took a few extra days off this week despite the chilly conditions for a mini-staycation.   Unbeknownst to me, Mr. Larj also had the week off due to a slow down at his work.  So of course, I’mImage tripping over the dog and the man.  I’m still attempting to do as little thinking and housework as possible.  I have gone in to full crafting mode and managed to do a little dying yesterday.  I love tonal colors and think they show off lace knitting beautifully.  I dyed 4 oz. of Finn top a beautiful tonal sky blue, I dyed 10 oz. of “Buster” an apple green and I over dyed a pink, violet, orange combo with a tomato red.  I think everything turned out pretty well.  The green is really green and maybe a little more varied than I would like but I’m sure a lot of that can be worked out in the spinning process by pre-drafting my fiber.

I also finished spinning and plying the completely random batt that I picked up at the Wine and Wool Fest last year.  It was not happy spinning.  It was a real mish mash but when it all came together it looked pretty amazing.  I wanted to ply it with a fairly neutral color, somethingImage pretty grabby so that the whole mess would stay together, so I used a rust colored wool that I had dyed using Wilton’s when it all came together I have to say that the result is pretty stunning.  I think it wants to be a simple bias knit scarf.  Here it is before I wound the skein, soaked it and thwaked it on the basement floor.  It came out to approximately 200 yards!   I also over dyed a skein of cream and brown 2 ply tweed that I had spun last year.  I loved the fibers, BFL and Alpaca, but I was not crazy about the colors.  I over dyed it with a true red.  The color came out a bit more on the orangey side but all in all and improvement.  Rinsing out the red dye was a bit of a challenge.  I don’t know if I used too much in the pot or if the fiber wasn’t able to fully absorb the dye but I rinsed and rinsed and rinsed.  I had to stop because the yarn was starting to felt so hopefully it won’t come off on my hands as I’m knitting.  

As for knitting, I’ve started, frogged and re-started the February Lady cardigan.  I started knitting and then upon further review found out that most people said to “size down”.  I had actually sized up so needless to say it would have been way to big for me. I’m still on the yoke, I am past the eyelet increases and am now working towards the lace pattern once I have enough fabric to “almost meet under the arms” for the sleeves. I am making this with Ultra-Alpaca in black.  

As for more personal stuff, the dog is slowly, and I mean very slowly warming up to me.  He must have really had issues with women in the past as he really avoids me aImagend is occasionally “growly”.  Especially when I approach him when he’s sleeping or if he’s on the couch with Eric.  He continues to be destructive and we have to keep an eye on him at all times.  When I don’t see or hear him I can guarantee that he’s up to no good somewhere in the house. He is also a counter cruiser and a digger.  He will dig holes in the yard and put rocks in the holes.  I cannot wait for the weather to warm up so that we can get him out of the house and do more with him.  I understand that he’s a young dog and he’s bored but it seems that no amount of correction will make him mind. He is definitely a challenge.

Another challenge in my life lately is the fact that Maude is more dependent on me. I am pretty much trying to keep her afloat without making myself crazy.  My job is not a sit behind the desk and look cute job, by the time I get home after an 8 hour + day I am fried both mentally and physically.  It’s been next near to impossible to get her to understand that I have time constraints and that hour long phone calls are not a viable option in my world.  I actually would call her more often if I could get a 10 or 15 minute update and have her tell me what she needs if anything but…..it takes an hour or longer.  If I get short or impatient with her I get admonished for being “bitchy”.  It takes every ounce of patience that I have.  Of course my support is limited.  My sister that lives about an hour away is busy with her “me” time and my brother lives about an hour and a half away. My sister is supposed to take her for her eye appointment tomorrow.  Despite the fact that I am off tomorrow, I am going to let her do it on her own, she needs to see for herself how Maude is doing and how much assistance she requires. 

Well, enough  of that, time to get my butt in gear and get to my kettlebell class.  All I can do is try to keep myself physically and mentally strong. 

One thought on “Snap out of it already…..

  1. Keep battling…someday it’ll be warmer with no snow. Then you’ll take the dog for long walks and he’ll fall in love with you. Or so we can hope. Hang in there!!!

Leave a Reply

