ROTR day 1

20140516-210419.jpgIt felt like a work day. I was up at 5 AM and left the house about 6:15. The drive wasn’t too bad but it seems like parking and lines were a lot heavier this year than in past years. Most of the bands that I wanted to see were playing earlier in the day so I cut my day short. I decided that I didn’t really care about seeing Guns and Roses. It’s kind of like going to the funeral of someone that you haven’t seen in a long time. You prefer to remember them in their prime before they started to fade. There were definitely some highlights from the day, one of the bands I was unfamiliar with, Kill Devil Hill were really awesome. They were sort of the bluesy but with a hard crunchy edge. Black Stone Cherry have the whole hillbilly updated Allman Brothers vibe going on. Killswitch Engage was really amazing and did a tribute to Ronnie James Dio. One of the newer bands, We Came as Romans was really innovative in their sound and presentation. I really enjoyed their performance. I also understand that they are local to Michigan. Power trio Kyng gave a great performance as well. Probably one of the most surprising moments would be from a band that I don’t think any of us of heard from in a while, In Living Color definitely rocked the stage and sounded just as good as they did back in the day. When they performed the MC5’s Kick out the Jams it was epic. The only disappointment from the day Woodbys Zakk Wylde’s vocals for Black Label Society. I was wondering if I would like his vocals any better live than I do in studio recordings and… I don’t. It’s like he’s trying to sound like Axel and can’t quite pull it off.

20140516-210546.jpg Of course I worked on some knitting while I was watching some of the bands on the main stage. As usual the sock worked like kryptonite and kept pretty much everyone far away from me.
The crowd this year is an interesting mix as usual. Now I know what the people of Walmart do on their weekends. Some of the things I saw today truly made me scratch my head. I saw a lumpy white girl wearing a pair of boy shorts over a large pair of white cotton panties and printed across the back of the boy shorts was the word “vagina”. It was terrifying. One thing about the cool weather today was a cutdown on the skank factor. Now it’s time to have a glass of wine, chill out, watch some TV, relax, get some sleep and get ready for day two tomorrow.

One thought on “ROTR day 1

Leave a Reply

