Warm Weather Wanderings.

After our hellish winter, the weather has finally broken and turned in to summer. It was beautiful this past weekend so I definitely took advantage of it. My niece Becky planned to come from Owasso and stay with me on Saturday and Sunday. We crammed a lot into two days but it was all good. Saturday a.m. we went to kettle bell class as per usual. Afterwards we met up with my friends Cyndi and Cheri and went to the Pewabic pottery factory on Jefferson in Detroit. I had never been there and unbeknownst to us there was an event going on where many different ceramic artists were showcased. Pottery being one of my weaknesses, it was overwhelming feast for the eyes.

20140609-182040-66040303.jpg There were many beautiful items but this fireplace that was completely finished with Pewabic tiles was truly amazing. We continued from there to the Honeybee market to pick up some Mexican specialties for dinner later on. After that Becky and I made an unscheduled stop at the 555 Gallery on Vernor Highway in Mexican town. I had been to this gallery before and found the staff to be very informative and down to earth. This day’s visit was no exception. The artists were working on some iron casting molds and were more than happy to show us the entire process. Not only did they share their expertise with us but they wanted us to get involved. They were selling sand molds to be carved out for casting. I bought one of them and will carve out my design over the next couple days and then drop the mold off at the gallery to be cast on Saturday. Per the artist that gave us the tour the casting of the molds will be quite an event, not to be missed.

20140609-182811-66491799.jpg

20140609-182831-66511198.jpg This is my uncarved mold and one of the cast iron art displays at the gallery. It looks like a large textured seedpod that can be rolled in sand to leave an impression.
After Becky and I left the gallery we hooked up with Cyndi and Cheri again and hung out with them for the evening enjoying Mexican food, cocktails and conversation. I had almost forgotten, earlier in the day Becky and I discovered People’s bakery in Detroit. We picked up half a dozen jelly donuts and took them to Maude. She seemed pretty happy about getting a sugar fix and I think she was glad to see Becky. The next day Becky and I went to check out the Eastern market artist market. This is something that has started new this year and from what I can see from the crowd it’s very well received. We walked around and looked at the displays, check out the food trucks and decided to have a bloody at Vivio’s, of course.

20140609-183909-67149107.jpg
We came back home and Mr. Larj ordered pizza for everyone. We hung out, watched a movie and relaxed until it was time for Becky to leave to go home. During her visit I also gave Becky her birthday present, the first Stitch and Bitch book. She’s just starting to learn to knit.
On the knitting front I am still working on L’Enveloppe. I managed to finish the first section at this point it has to be steam blocked and seamed (yes I know, seamed). It is no secret that I have a complete aversion to seaming garments. Nothing will kick in my procrastination like facing the prospect of making two edges match up. Not only that, I am less than pleased with how the pattern is written. For such a wordy pattern it leaves gaps in some pretty crucial areas. I have still yet to completely figure out how to line this thing up put it together and then pick up the second section. I guess I will either figure it out on my own or I will be hunting one of my fellow knitters down for some tech help. At least it’s green.

20140609-184825-67705699.jpg To give myself a little relief from the hair pulling of L’Enveloppe, I’ve also been working on some simple dishcloths. I figure these will be stocking stuffers and upcoming summer birthday presents.

20140609-184943-67783245.jpg My biggest knitting accomplishment recently is to finish the “never-ending shawl”. I guess it finally did come to an end. I’m very happy with the way it turned out. It is the first project that I followed the directions start to finish from how it was to be spun to the knitting pattern. I don’t know that I was all that crazy about knitting with a lace weight single but the finished project certainly turned out beautifully.

20140609-185229-67949743.jpg Today I took Rocco for his follow-up ultrasound for his bladder stones. According to the vet they’re not any better and they’re not any worse. At this point it’s a matter of keeping an eye on things and making sure he doesn’t get any worse. We will continue his course of medication and his special diet, along with yearly follow-up ultrasounds. The vet also mentioned the possibility of further surgery on down the road but hopefully we can prevent that from happening with proper care. On a behavior front, Rocco has done a 180° turn from when we first got him. He is far more loving and attentive towards me. I can’t even express how happy and relieved I am to finally have a canine companion.

20140609-191051-69051906.jpg Well, it’s back to a regular work week tomorrow. I hope everyone is enjoying their summer and I will continue to try and keep up with regular posting.

Leave a Reply

