Holidaze

All I can say about the holidays is that I’m glad they’re over. Just once I would like to be able to get through the holidays without issue. This year everything was basically okay except for having a major falling out with a friend. I can’t say it was any one incident I believe that it’s been in the works for a while. Perhaps we are just different people now and this is where things need to be.
I’m glad that I started my holiday knitting projects in July. I kept it simple, just some cotton dish cloths along with some homemade jams. Everyone seemed to like them. I refuse to run around in the rat race of gift shopping. The holidays are stressful enough.
As for knitting, I’ve been trying to catch up on some random FO’s that have been hanging around in my basket for ever. I have yet to address L’Enveloppe, I keep hoping that it will magically seam itself. I did my very first mystery knit along through a designer on Ravelry. It was kind of fun, I did not know what the finished object to would be although I went through her other designs and liked what I saw. As it turns out it’s a very nice, as my friend Lynne put it “scowl”. It’s a cross between a shawl and a cowl. I used Paton’s “Alpaca”, it’s a chunky weight yarn and it’s very soft and drapey.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2fd/43651537/files/2015/01/img_8838-0.jpg
I also completed a matching set including a hat, mitts and a cowl from the Simple Collection by Tin Can Knits. Admittedly, matching sets are usually pretty dorky in my book but the simplicity of these patterns make them all work well together without looking over done. There’s also a very nice cardigan included within the set of patterns that I think I might make. If you haven’t checked out these patterns on Ravelry I recommend you do so, the entire collection is free!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2fd/43651537/files/2015/01/img_8840.jpg
Everything else is status quo. Maybe that’s a good thing. I have managed to scam a couple of days off of work to catch up on the household basics. Today’s chore was defrosting the chest freezer in the basement. I always take advantage of the below freezing weather to store everything on the patio while I defrost. Tomorrow I will be hitting the post office to mail out some very belated Christmas presents and doing Maude’s grocery shopping for her.
Rocco and I seem to have called a truce, he still has his growly moments but he’s been a little bit better since I’ve been backing off and letting him be himself. The only time I really address his behavior is when he’s getting particularly nasty or dominant. Here’s a nice snap of him modeling his Christmas present, a dog collar from Detroit manufacturing company that has a seat belt style buckle clasp and a nice print of the city map on it.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2fd/43651537/files/2015/01/img_8777.jpg
As for spinning, I’ve been doing a lot of spindle spinning but I haven’t really put anything together as of yet as far as definitive project. There are a lot of ideas in my head that simply haven’t made their way out through my hands yet, but I’m working on it. I would like to give a shameless plug to Snyder spindles. I have been purchasing his spindles for several months now and I think I’m up to five at this point. They are reasonably priced and spin like a dream. He really puts a lot of thought into his products. The latest one I purchased is his “45 spindle”. The top of it looks like that little plastic thingamajig that you popped inside of a 45 record to spin on a regular turntable.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2fd/43651537/files/2015/01/img_8850.jpg I don’t know how much yardage I’ve managed to get out of this but it’s a fair amount. This was spun on his medium weight spindle, it landed somewhere between a worsted and a sport weight. .
Okay, it’s late, I’m tired and I’ve unloaded all my fiber and personal baggage for the time being. Let’s hope for a peaceful and drama free new year.

One thought on “Holidaze

Leave a Reply

