Knitting as I unravel

I’ve been working on a couple of projects lately. One of them is a long-term spinning project that I started a couple of years ago on a drop spindle. It’s turning into a lovely “Boneyard” shawl.  I wanted a simple pattern that wouldn’t overwhelm the subtle color changes of the yarn. I didn’t really have a plan when I started spinning so it’s all quite random but it’s coming together nicely. However it is very light weight somewhere between a cobweb and lace weight. I ended up using size 1 1/2 needles to achieve a proper fabric.  

 Given the tediousness of this project, I decided that I needed to start another less intense pattern that I’ve had in on the back burner for a while. I’ve had plans to make “tattered” and had the perfect yarn lined up. I have plans to ramp up the pattern and turn it into a “Waking Dead” shawl, complete with blood spatter, bloody handprints and if I can swing it some teeth.   

 So where on earth when I get the teeth? Well the answer to that question is… myself. As it turns out I’m going to have to have a dental extraction on August 10. I went to the dentist yesterday and he informed me that only 1 to 2% of people crack their teeth all the way down to the root. Of course I’m one of those very special people. My options are to either get a bridge or an implant. I don’t like the thought of a bridge so apparently I will be getting an implant sometime this year. It’s quite a drawn out process and pricey. In addition to my issues with my teeth, I have also been having issues with the reoccurrence  of the HPV virus requiring a biopsy and a recent flare of my interstitial cystitis after almost 25 years of remission. Needless to say this has me very stressed out which is not helping my health. I’ve been trying to control some of these issues with supplements,  I’ve  had a fair amount of success with getting the interstitial cystitis under control however I will just have to wait and see what goes on with the HPV. I think that that is the issue that I’m most upset about as I thought I had it all taken care of with the major procedure that I had done last year. It’s tiresome and I just wanted to be done and over with.

Also since my last post I had my minivacation at my knitting retreat. It was really nice this year very calm and relaxed. My sister Gus also came for a visit. My plans for Rock on the Range were canceled but I still kept my time off, I’m glad that I did so that way we could spend an entire week together.  

 
Gus will also be coming again in the fall, can’t wait to spend more time with her. I also have an 89th birthday party for Maude on Saturday. It’s hard to believe that she’s almost in to her 90’s. I hope everyone is having a great summer and most importantly staying healthy…. 
 

.

One thought on “Knitting as I unravel

  1. Wow, that Boneyard shawl is going to be so gorgeous!
    Sorry to hear about your tooth issue…my mom has had several implants, they are a huge process but I think worth it in the end. Hope things look up for you soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

