Seeking Normal

All of my resolve to post more regularly went out the window when I returned to work after my surgery. It’s been an uphill struggle to get back to normal. Of course I’m not really back to normal, my energy levels are pretty much what they were but I’m still dealing with swelling and that pulling feeling in my abdomen. I have returned to working out at my exercise studio again. It feels really good to be back. I’ve missed my kettle bells. Other than that, life is pretty much status quo. Nothing ever really changes it’s like being a hamster on a wheel moving forward and not really getting anywhere. I’ve been looking back on a lot of things and it seems like by the time we figure out why we make the choices that we do it’s too late to do anything about them.  Perhaps this is the reason I compulsively knit, it’s the one part of my life where I actually have some control over the process and results.  

  I’ve made progress on quite a few of my knitting projects. I managed to finish a number of small items recently and a large Sontag shawl. It’s so cozy and warm. I have also been attempting to expand my skills by learning how to brioche knit. I’ve been doing an online class on Craftsy, it’s very detailed and the instructor explains things well. I finished a sample swatch but that’s about it. I really need to go through the rest of the course work because I want to make a brioche hat. I figure that will be a good starting point. My ultimate goal is to make the “Askews me“shawl from Stephen West. Of course we all need those instant gratification projects as well, lately mine has been making little ear bud cases. They are super cute and a great way to use up leftover bits of sock yarn.  

 As for spinning I’ve decided to reattempt chain plying. I have a couple of bobbins halfway full that I intend to jump in and make it work. I think it would probably be a good idea to check out some YouTube videos first. It’s been a long time since I’ve attempted doing this. I also spun 6 ounces of mohair and Coopworth blend with glitz. It’s a really beautiful magenta color, photos cannot do it justice. I’ve been perusing Ravelry to find the perfect project for it. It’s fingering weight, about 400 yards.  

 I will leave you with a photo of Rocco. He is another sticking point in my life. No progress there, he still not “my” dog. I don’t think he ever will be.  

Stay warm. 

2 thoughts on “Seeking Normal

  1. Boy, do I know that hamster on the wheel feeling all too well. Glad you are able to get back to exercising. As far as Rocco goes, do you think that it might be his breed that keeps him from getting really close to you? I’ve always heard that dalmations are not the easiest dogs to deal with….in terms of affection, etc.

Leave a Reply

